Second Hand Saturday: White Gloves

 

While browsing through my Grandma’s vast collection of vintage fashion, I recently found this beautiful pink satin box full of white gloves. 

 

There are various types of white gloves – gloves for summer, casual gloves, formal gloves, long and short gloves. They’re all so beautiful and elegant, so that made me think – why did women stop wearing gloves?

It is appropriate to wear formal white gloves to a formal or semi-formal event, such as weddings, dances, teas, fashion shows, cocktail parties and last but not least, on Sunday morning. So, it’s not like we don’t have occasions to wear gloves. Maybe it’s because as time passed we put less emphasis on being elegant.

I, for one, plan on continuing to do my part to bring elegance back to the female wardrobe. Luckily, I have an amazing box of white gloves, passed down from one of the most elegant women I’ve ever known, to get me started.

I challenge you to do the same — instead of bringing “sexy” back, bring elegance back. It’s timeless.

 

Leave a Reply

