Toxic People

A simple definition of the word toxic is simply “something harmful to your health.” Fairly simple, right? It’s easy to spot things that are bad for our health – smoking, UV ray exposure, fatty foods, but it’s not always so easy for us to spot toxic people in our lives.

You know the people I’m talking about. The manipulators, the haters, the liars, the users, the abusers, the two-faced, etc. etc. – the list goes on. We all have these kinds of people in our lives, well … I used to at least. But, then I asked myself – “What is the benefit of having these people in my life?” And when I wasn’t able to come up with a single one … well, I just detoxified my life.

Was it hard? Of course, some of these people were the people that I was closest to, but their self-proclaimed jealousy, their two-faced ways, all the lies they told, and of course they way they manipulated and used me forced me to cut them out of my life completely. It took awhile to adjust to their absence from my life, longer for some than others, but once I adjusted I realized something — exactly how wonderful my life was without them.

The drama factor was cut to pretty much a bare minimum, made sense because toxic people feed off of the drama they create, and they ALWAYS find a way to create it. I felt better about myself because there wasn’t someone that was trying to belittle me because of their own insecurities, and basically I realized I never really needed these people in my life.

I always wondered “What’s wrong with me, why do they act this way?” But, then I realized there was nothing wrong with me, it was something wrong within them that they needed to fix, and why was I wasting my life worrying about it?

My point is this — When people show their true colors everything becomes black and white, bottom line. They are either good for you, or bad for you. My suggestion is to cut toxic people out of your life because trust me … it’s like a breath of fresh air.

Leave a Reply

